It’s true, there’s going to be an entire convention – here in our very own Portland – at the Convention Center – focused on the art of handknitting socks. Cool, huh? It’s August 6 – 9th, 2009.

If you get a minute – check out their web site – here: Sock Summit 2009.

Check out the class schedule – there’s got to be at least a hundred classes. And the teachers who are a veritable who’s who in the knitting world.

Okay – I admit it – I wanna go.

It’s just not possible financially for me, though. The great news, however, is the fact that they will have a Marketplace – a wonderful room chock full of yarns and needles and books and accessories of all sorts. And it’s only $2 to get in – THAT I can afford! So I’ve got it on my calendar – anyone else want to go with? The Marketplace will be open from 8:30 am to 6:00 pm on the 7th and 8th (Friday and Saturday). They have Sunday hours but with the whole getting to church thing – not likely to happen in my world! Anyway – you can see the Summit schedule here.

So drop me an email or a comment here if you want to go with, okay?

(Left: The only sock I ever knit. Yes, there’s only one. No – I’m not sure I’ll ever make the mate. Give me time – it’s only been three months since I finished this one – I’m not quite ready to contemplating starting the next one!)

