If you could knit or crochet anything for anyone, what would it be, and who would it be for?

This was a question posed on the Lion Brand Yarn blog recently. I loved it – and loved reading the responses. Isn’t it great to have an opportunity to reflect some?

To be honest – I haven’t had the opportunity to knit or crochet much of late. During these many weeks while I’ve been recovering from a pretty traumatic and complication-laden surgeries, I’ve not been strong enough to knit. To be precise – I’ve knit six rows on a shawl that I should have been done with quite some time ago.

But I’m rejoicing! I CAN knit a little now. One of these days I’ll be strong enough to finish that shawl and move on!

In the meantime, I’ll share my answer to the question above. I’d love it if you’d leave your answer in the comments.

I’d love to knit or crochet – either or – something for my Dad. When I was four years old Dad taught me how to crochet. He was a functionally illiterate truck driver – a big burly guy with grease under his nails from working on the engine of his truck. He had a pretty significant southern accent – he was born in Louisiana and grew up in Mississippi – but he was the sweetest, kindest, most patient Dad there was.

When I was four years old he pulled out a little tiny steel crochet hook, a ball of string, and taught me what his great-grandmother had taught him to do – form a chain of stitches. He told me his memory of being a little boy – sitting on his great-grandmother’s porch – sitting next to her in her chair, her arms around him, guiding his hands, while she told him what it was like to be at the Siege of Vicksburg. (Yes, during the Civil War!)

I don’t think Dad or I knew that starting with a tiny hook and string were maybe not the ideal materials for a 4 year old to start with – but it didn’t seem to be a bad thing. In fact, it gave me a taste of feeling like I might one day be capable of crafting a beautiful doily like my Grandmother had around her home. It gave me confidence!

Nowadays – stuff like this:

No big deal!

What would I knit or crochet for my Dad? Honestly, I have no idea. Maybe a sweater? Why didn’t I knit or crochet stuff for him while he was still living? I have no idea!

I think the fact that I didn’t really craft stuff for him has given me an emotional catalyst now to want to craft things for other people. Dad was a really giving guy. He would give a homeless guy the last buck in his pocket, walk the guy to the nearest coffee shop and make sure the guy got a fresh, hot cup of coffee. Our couch was often home for people who had no alternatives. It was completely routine to have an extra plate or two set at the dinner table – someone needed loved on – and Mom and Dad were happy to be the folks to do that.

So how about you?

