I must confess…

I am seriously addicted to yarn.

The big bummer about that?

I really just can’t afford it much.

IF I have extra egg money (we sell excess eggs from our backyard flock), then I have some fun money! Most fun money gets turned into yarn magically! 🙂

That being the case – coupled with the fact that I’m super picky about fiber content – has led me to be a bit of a bargain hunter where yarn is concerned.

Imagine my thrill when I found a place in Portland that sells custom yarn – by the pound!

That may not sound very excited when you first think of it – but then start thinking about stuff like this:

Debbie Bliss Cashmerino – runs somewhere in the neighborhood of $8 to $9 for one skein, that weighs slightly less than 2 ounces.

I have a pattern for a cute little baby cardigan that calls for 4 skeins of the Debbie Bliss Cashmerino. That’s not cheap. At all.

So – out of curiosity, I emailed the fabulous by the pound yarn shop in Portland and asked them what it would cost me for 200 yards of the equivalent of a Debbie Bliss Cashmerino.

Any guesses?

$17.64 WITH shipping and handling. It would be $11.33 if I’d prefer to pick it up in the shop.

WOW!

Guess where I think I’ll be buying all my yarn in future?!

YARNIA

What’s really cool is that you can use their online ordering feature to get a quote for any kind of blend – fiber and/or color wise – and a time frame turnaround required for your desired yarn.

AMAZING!

So I’m saving up my pennies, and when I’ve got enough gathered together, to Yarnia I go!

