It’s W.I.P. Wednesday over at Kristine’s Creative Crochet. It’s a great little blog hop – and great opportunity to show what Works In Progress you’ve got going on – and I like to show what’s been accomplished, too.

So – here goes!

Yep. It’s true. I missed last week. So I’ve got some catching up to do.

First – remember the headband I cast on? Got it done!

Cute, huh? Perfect for a little girl who needs to keep her ears warm on the way to school in the morning!

Next – in the generous donation from Happy Knits came some yarn I’d never laid eyes on before. I’ve seen bulky yarn – but this stuff is SUPER bulky! Crazy, wild bulky!

I couldn’t not cast on, could I?!

Using a size 13 needle, it swatched out at about 2.5 stitches per inch. So – using the Free Dulaan Zud Hat pattern at Mossy Cottage Knits blog I set to work. This hat nearly flew off the needles – it worked up so quickly. It’s a simple k1, p1 pattern and while it takes a bit to get accustomed to the thickness and texture of the yarn – it was pretty fun!

The yarn she uses (Cascade Magnum) has more yardage than this – so I did a two-tone with two different colors. The boys seem to think it’s pretty cool, so I guess it’s okay. I will say – this hat is super smooshy and warm and just makes you want to put it on!

A beret that I’ve made many a time was next. It’s a Very Basic Muffin Cap by Sara Morris of Knit Purl! – using Pagewood Farm‘s Kiana – it’s such a lovely yarn to work with!

This is a top down beret – starting the work with an I-cord. It goes so fast, and is really very pretty.

And – I couldn’t help myself. As soon as I saw the Route 66 colorway of the Sundara worsted weight yarn, I had to cast on Turn a Square by Jared Flood.

I gotta tell you – this stuff is amazing to knit with! It just makes you want to never put your knitting down! The texture is fabulous, and the colors – I don’t know any other way to say it other than to say that they glow. Glorious!

As you can see – I’m just a few rows from being completed with this hat. Hooray!

After this one is done, then I’ll probably try and get some more done on the scarf that I started with the lovely yarn I won. And, of course, I’ll likely cast on another hat. I’m sort of focusing on hats for boys – I dunno… Do you feel like it’s just so much easier to quickly find something to knit for a girl? That’s why I want to make sure to get a bunch of stuff that a boy wouldn’t think was girly in any way, shape, or form put together.

So my BSD Tally…

4 hats

1 headband

I better go get this hat finished up. I got a lot of knitting to do!

So how about you – what have you got on needles?

