Everybody ought to have a blankie.

Something warm, lovingly hand-made, and practical.

Something that says that someone cared enough to invest a little bit of themselves on your behalf.

(Just like every girl who needs to take a picture of a blanket ought to have a lovely, sunny fall day at her disposal!)

Know what I mean?

I crocheted the blocks for this blanket when my Mom was dying. I’d just had my hip replaced, and Mom was going downhill fast, and though I had little to offer more than my companionship, prayers, and voice to sing her favorite hymns to her at that pivotal juncture in her transition to the home of her heart – I was so happy to have this to keep my hands busy. I was using up the odds and ends of a lovely gift of Kertzer Super 10 cotton that my Grammy had given me shortly before she died just a little over a year prior.

I love this blanket.

It makes me smile. It reminds me how much my Mom and Grammy both loved me, and how much I loved them.

It’s not huge.

It’s not fancy.

But – in my mind anyway – it’s fabulous.

I want that for the homeless kids in the Beaverton School District.

I really want them each to eventually end up with a blanket. Maybe not full blown afghan sized – but maybe sorta junior sized, like this one. It’s 36″ by 52″.

I know – I know!

Our focus right now is on the hats, headbands, scarves, cowls, gloves and mittens (fingerless and traditional), socks, and slippers – and well – other small-ish items that are targeted to be completed by Thanksgiving.

(Did you know it’s only 7 weeks until Thanksgiving?)

But after Thanksgiving… whatdya say we focus on really making a concerted effort toward the blankets?

I’ve started working my leftover yarn into knit and crocheted squares.

It’s a great way to brush up on stitch patterns I haven’t played with in years, as well as learn some new. Pretty much – I’m trying to keep any squares from a particular type of yarn (like the leftover Malabrigo single ply merino in Lettuce from the Habitat hat I finished a couple of weeks ago) the same size.

If you get inspired by being a part of this – be sure to read this post – it gives a little more thought to it. And consider leaving a comment here with any thoughts or input you have on the topic here. I know we have the holidays approaching and people want to knit, crochet, and sew for gift giving. But at the same time, I don’t want to forget that it would be pretty awesome to not lose momentum and focus – and stay on course. Right?!

So tell me what you think!

