Tags

, ,

Do you knit lace?

Feel like it’s kinda scary?

Let me assure you – it’s really pretty – :gasp: – fun!

For me – the big thing that made it seem doable was finding a small item to complete with a fairly easy lace pattern – and all of a sudden I felt – well – confident!

Amazing how many decades into knitting it took me to get the guts up to dip my toes into those waters!

I’ve had a couple of our BSD Project Knitters mention that they’d kind of like to foray into lace knitting, but felt unsure if they could accomplish the patterns they were coming apart.

When I met one of the *lovely* skeins of Nashua Geologie in the Citrine colorway – well, I knew it was destined for a lovely little lace pattern to show off the coloration shifts.

I looked at hat patterns on Ravelry – eh, couldn’t find anything to float my boat.

Then I looked at scarves – again, nothing that made me want to run right over to cast-on.

Then I saw the cutest little cowl – kind of more of a neckwarmer, to be honest, and I wondered, “I wonder if there’s one of those with a lace pattern?” Nope, there wasn’t! Stink!

So – I decided I’d just have to make one up. So, my friends, I give you the Harvest Leaves Cowl – a very simple, super quick, beginner’s foray into lace knitting.

Once again – special thanks to my lovely model, Miss Alayna. She is a delight to know – and a privilege to feature as my model!

I hope you enjoy!

Harvest Leaves Cowl


Skill Level: Intermediate

Materials:

  • 1 skein Nashua Geologie, 37% Acrylic / 33% Mohair / 30% Wool 142 Yards in Citrine colorway
  • 1 pair size US #8, 16-inch circular knitting needles
  • 4 stitch markers

CO 96 stitches.

Row 1: *K3, k2tog, k4, yfrn, p2, yo, k2tog, p2, yo, k4, skp, k3, pm*. Repeat from * to * three more times to complete row.

Row 2 (and every even row): *k9, p2, k2, p2, k9, slip marker*. Repeat from * to * three more times to complete row.

Row 3: *k2, k2tog, k4, yo, k1, p2, k2tog, yfrn, p2, k1, yo, k4, skp, k2, slip marker*. Repeat from * to * three more times to complete row.

Row 5: *k1, k2tog, k4, yo, k2, p2, yo, k2tog, p2, k2, yo, k4, skp, k1, slip marker*. Repeat from * to * three more times to complete row.

Row 7: *k2tog, k4, yo, k3, p2, k2tog, yfrn, p2, k3, yo, k4, skp, slip marker*. Repeat from * to * three more times to complete row.

Repeat Rows 1 through 8 twice.

Bind off loosely.


Chart

(The chart rarely comes through to the blog clearly. You’re best off just downloading the pdf by clicking here.

8

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

p

p

x

x

p

p

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

 
 

F

x

x

x

x

O

x

x

x

p

p

O

/

p

p

x

x

x

O

x

x

x

x

/

7

6

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

p

p

x

x

p

p

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

 
 

x

F

x

x

x

x

O

x

x

p

p

/

O

p

p

x

x

O

x

x

x

x

/

x

5

4

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

p

p

x

x

p

p

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

 
 

x

x

F

x

x

x

x

O

x

p

p

O

/

p

p

x

O

x

x

x

x

/

x

x

3

2

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

p

p

x

x

p

p

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

 
 

x

x

x

F

x

x

x

x

O

p

p

/

O

p

p

O

x

x

x

x

/

x

x

x

1

  24 23 22 21 20 19 18

17

16

15

14

13

12

11

10

9

8

7

6

5

4

3

2

1

 

 

Key:

x   k on RS, p on WS
     
p   purl
     
O   YO and yfrn
     
/   k2tog
     
F   skp

 

Terms/Abbreviations

k knit
k2tog knit 2 together
p purl
pm place marker
psso pass slipped stitch over
rep repeat(s)
skp slip 1, knit 1, psso
sl slip
st(s) stitch(es)
yo yarn over
yfrn yarn over from the front
