Tags

, , ,

Have I mentioned that I was a crocheter before I was a knitter?

When I was 4 years old my big, burly, manly man, truck-driving Dad taught me how to crochet.

That’s him – holding terrified me on the Dumbo Ride at Disneyland – I was probably 2 or 3 there.

My Dad learned to crochet from one of his Grannies – being that I’m kind of the family historian, I’ve done some digging, and I gotta say – it must have been a great-grandma, and maybe even a great-great grandma. ‘Cause the way he told it – his Granny sat on the porch, teaching him how to crochet, all the while telling him about how she learned to crochet at the Siege of Vicksburg. Yeah – that Siege of Vicksburg – you know, Civil War.

Amazing, huh?

ANYWAY, one of the things I learned how to crochet fairly early on was how to make a Granny Square. They were all the rage in the 70’s, afterall!

One of the really cool things about Granny Squares is that they’re SUPER basic, and easy to make, and amazingly versatile.

Several years ago (Spring 2006 to be exact) my Grammy and I were browsing the book section at one of the local Craft Stores and I came across 200 Crochet Blocks by Jan Eaton. I’ll admit – I wanted that book something awful! BUT – finances would not allow. My Grammy, being the sweet, amazing, book-a-holic that she was, eventually gifted me with this very book!

Little did I know that just a few months from then Grammy would suffer a series of strokes that would eventually take her life. Just prior to this, she’d taken me aside, held my hand, looked me in the eye and asked me if – when the time came – would I please help honor her wish to never be hospitalized again, never have another IV, to have her family around her when she died – and if I’d promise to take care of her. I said yes, of course.

Just before the first stroke, she pressed some cash in my hand and made me promise to go and stock up on some lovely Kertzer Super 10 mercerized cotton that I’d spied on sale, so that I’d have “something to work with.”

So – in the last weeks of her life, I spent my time sitting with Grammy, singing her favorite hymns to her, reading her Bible to her, and crocheting through 200 Crochet Blocks by Jan Eaton.

I have a bag full of squares that I finished during those weeks. Wanna see some of them? (Like you had a choice! LOL!)

Here’s the thing about Granny Squares: they can be super simple – i.e., one color. Or they can be super complex – i.e., a different color for each round. They can be small. They can be HUGE. The variables are pretty astounding.

So – this week, I’m making a goal to crochet 10 Granny Squares.

See? I just started:

That’s my chain 4, slip stitch to form ring to start!

Okay – so, as promised – I’m going to give the directions to work a very simple Granny Square.

But before I get down to the actual directions – I want to direct you to a resource that I’ll be compiling as we start working on squares. See up there at the header of the page? There’s a drop down menu that says “Resources.” If you hover your cursor there, you’ll see a page listed called “Phase 2: Squares” – if you click on that, it’ll take you to a page that will list some on-line helps – and an occasional source of inspiration as well! – for working the square we’re working on. Okay?

So – moving on….

Basic Granny Square

Foundation Ring: Chain 4 and join with slip stitch to join the ring.

Round 1: Chain 6, [3 double crochet into ring, chain 3] 3 times, 2 double crochet into ring, join with slip stitch into the 3rd chain of the beginning chain 6.

Round 2: Slip stitch into the center stitch of next chain 3 space, chain 6. 3 double crochet into the same space, *chain 1, [3 double crochet, chain 3, 3 double crochet] into the next chain 3 space; repeat from * twice. Chain 1, 2 double crochet into the same space as beginning chain 6, join with slip stitch into the 3rd chain of chain 6.

Round 3: Slip stitch into center stitch of next chain 3 space, chain 6, 3 double crochet into same space. *Chain 1, 3 double crochet into next chain 1 space, chain 1, **[3 double crochet, chain 3, 3 double crochet] into the next chain 3 space; repeat from * twice and from * to ** once again. 2 double crochet into the space before the beginning chain 6, join with a slip stitch into the 3rd of the beginning chain 6.

That’s a 3 round Granny Square.

You could quit there if you wanted.

Or – you could go on, and on, and on! 🙂

It’s really all about what floats your boat.

Now – before we wrap this up – let’s say you want to change to a different color. It’s super easy – and once you see how it’s done, you’ll say – “OHHHHHH! Of course!”

So – you’re just finishing the last row. You’ve inserted your hook into the 3rd chain of the round. But wait – DON’T slip the stitch yet.

Instead, grab your new color, and use it to slip the stitch to join the round.

Voila!

That’s all it takes!

And that’s pretty much it.

You just keep on working your pattern – chaining one between 3 double crochet clusters, and doing the 3 double crochet, chain 3, 3 double crochet in the corners.

See?

I told you it was easy!

Now – if you’ll excuse me… I need to go finish a few more Granny Squares!

🙂

