Tags

, , , , ,

When I was probably about 9 or 10 years old I happened upon a 1940-something crochet pamphlet in my Grammy’s rather extensive (and musty smelling) stash of knitting and crochet books, etc.

Total blast from the past.

It was one of the wonderful summers that I spent with my Grammy and Grandpa in Southern California. I can remember the smell of the apricot tree with ripe fruit, as I sat in the screened in porch – when it was far too hot to go out and play – with Grammy sewing something at her sewing machine, and I was leafing through the treasure trove of old crafting books, magazines, and the like.

She didn’t believe in throwing anything away, my precious Grammy.

She was a child of the Depression.

She cut out pattern pieces from saved bits of newspaper. (Back side of a saved “pattern piece” – get a load of those prices!)

And she loved Vogue Knitting.

What a gal, my Grammy.

She and I had a bit of a detente going on in terms of knitting and crochet.

She’d tried to teach me how to knit with less than satisfactory results. (I’m fairly certain the fact that her right index finger had been amputated in an accident making her somewhat left hand dominant had a good deal to do with this…. Well, that and the fact that she was a total perfectionist – and I’m not!)

And she knew I was on fairly firm footing with crochet and didn’t need her help – unless asked for.

So that hot summer afternoon I asked, “Grammy – have you done a crochet shell lattice?” as I spied the little pamphlet.

“Hmm…” she thought a moment, “yes, I believe I have.”

“Think I could do it?” I asked.

“Oh sure. Just read the instructions, go slowly. You’ll do fine.”

And she was right.

This is a lovely little pattern, and it brings back all kinds of wonderful memories of my Grammy.

Shell Lattice Square

(Multiple of 5 stitches plus 2)

I started by chaining 32 stitches.

Base row: Work 1 single crochet into the second chain from hook. One single crochet into the next chain. *chain 3, skip 3 single crochet, work 1 single crochet in each of next 3 chains, repeating from * until 5 chains remain. Chain 3, skip 3 chains, work 1 single crochet in each of the last 2 chains. Chain 1, turn.

Row 1: 1 single crochet into the first single crochet, *5 double crochet into the next 3 chain arch, skip 1 single crochet, 1 single crochet into next single crochet, repeat from * to end. Chain 3, turn.

Row 2: *1 single crochet in the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th stitches of the 5 dc group, chain 3. Repeat from * to the end, ending with 1 single crochet into the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th stitches, chain 2, 1 single crochet into the last stitch. Chain 3, turn.

Row 3: 2 double crochet into the chain 2 space, skip 1 single crochet, 1 single crochet into the next single crochet, *5 double crochet into the next chain 3 arch, skip 1 single crochet, 1 single crochet into next single crochet. Repeat from * to last chain 3 space, 3 double crochet into the last space. Chain 1, turn.

Row 4: 1 single crochet into each of the first 2 double crochet, *chain 3, 1 single crochet into the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th stitches of the 5 double crochet group from the previous round. Repeat from * to the end, ending with chain 3, 1 single crochet into the 2nd double crochet, and 1 single crochet into the 3rd chain of the chain 3.

And that’s pretty much it. You repeat these 4 rows to build your block. My block ended up being 20 rows total – not counting the foundation row.

I think one of my favorite things about this stitch pattern is that covers a lot of ground pretty quickly. Well – and of course – it’s really pretty!

So – if you’re up for a new crochet pattern – have at it!

🙂

