Tags

, , , ,

To be honest with you – there are just shy of 55 bazillion crochet square patterns out there. Knitted squares? Not so much. So it makes sense to find a pattern for one that is super versatile – and if mitered squares don’t fit the bill, I just don’t know what does!

Why?

  1. They’re pretty.
  2. They’re super fast to knit.
  3. They’re super easy to knit.
  4. They actually seem to go faster with each successive square knit!

What’s not to love?

So let’s get started.

Oh – and just so I don’t forget to mention this – I’m using the Blue Moon Fiber Arts Icelandic (of the jaw-dropping stupendously generous donation of fiber from BMFA of late) in a colorway that’s sort of purple, but sort of copper – or maybe it’s gold, but sort of green – all in all – nothing short of stunning. It’s technically tagged a bulky yarn – I’d call it more a robust worsted. Whatever it is – it’s a delight to knit with!   (And just to make sure we’ve got truth in advertising going on here, I get about 4.5 stitches to the inch.)

I’m going to show you two squares. But for educational purposes – I’ll give you the blow by blow on the smallest square.

Using a size 7 needle, I cast on 30 stitches.

1st Row: Knit 18 stitches, then slip slip knit – i.e., decrease one stitch. Now place a marker. Yes, really – it’s important. I’m serious – you need the marker!

Now you knit 2 stitches together just past the marker and then knit the rest of the row.

Second row and every even row following: Knit.

3rd and every odd row following: Knit until 2 stitches before the marker, slip slip knit, transfer marker, knit two together, knit the balance of the row.

That’s it.

Yeah. Really.

Here’s what it looks like after a few rows. You can see that point starting to form.

Oh – and I know – probably obvious to everyone else -but it helps me to remember that I’m on a decrease row when the cast-on tail is on the right hand side. When it’s on the left hand side, it’s a knit row.

A little further…

When I get to the last 4 stitches, I ssk the first two, remove the marker, k2tog the last two; turn and knit those two, and then knit the last two together.

And voila!

One mitered square finished!

As you can see, this one is just right about 3.5″ square. (Weighs up at 5 grams.)

What I particularly love about these is that you can take pretty much any number divisible by two and make whatever size square that floats your boat.

The big one below – 72 stitches cast on. You knit 34, ssk, place marker, k2tog, knit the balance – and follow the same directions as you did for the little square.

This big one is 9″ square. (And for those who are wondering what kind of fiber requirement is needed – it weighs in at a hefty 37 grams!)

Can you just join me in marveling at the amazing coloration there? BMFA does marvelous things with color!

I’ll be honest – I don’t go anywhere without some knitting in tow. Traveling with a large square on needles is a great little project to travel with that requires not a lot of brain power! 🙂

Enjoy!

