Tags

, , , , ,

Today’s Theme: Skill + 1 Up

Look back over your last year of projects and compare where you are in terms of skill and knowledge of your craft to this time last year. Have you learned any new skills or forms of knitting/crochet (can you crochet cable stitches now where you didn’t even know such things existed last year? Have you recently put a foot in the tiled world of entrelac? Had you even picked up a pair of needles or crochet hook this time last year?

Tips: Don’t be abashed at admitting your own skill and progress. If possible, include pictures of projects that you gained new skills from.

Ummm…. wracking my brain trying to remember – did I learn anything new in the knitting/crocheting skill set this year? Gosh….

Oh yeah! I did!

Some months ago I came across a pattern for a super cute crocheted beret called Phannie.

What’d I tell you? Adorable, huh?

Okay – so – I have this bias. I just feel like there aren’t as many cute hat patterns for crochet as there are for knitting. Am I the only one?

I mean – I was a crocheter decades before I was ever a knitter. This isn’t a one skill versus the other kind of thing. It just seems like the lion’s share of adorable accessories are being designed for knitwear. Hence, my excitement over Phannie.

I happily pointed crocheters to this pattern – and was thrilled to see them come in for the BSD Project.

Then, someone asked me I could help them with a problem with the pattern, and I said, “No problem!”

Yeah – I’d skimmed over the pattern, but I had not actually worked it yet. Nothing really stood out as scary or difficult about it.

Then I tried to figure out the challenge this crocheter was having.

Wait a minute.

Whoa Nellie!

FPDC?

What the heck?

Front post double crochet.

That one was news to me. A couple of us at the gathering where the request for help first was made went to work trying to figure it out. We tried swatching – to no avail. We all eventually just set in and worked the pattern.

I’m not going to lie – there are times when You Tube videos just make me want to weep for joy.

This was one such occasion.

OH! So THAT’s what they meant.

Okay – and there was a Ravelry group that was pretty helpful, too.

Thank goodness for community!

‘Cause you know what? It really wasn’t that hard a pattern. It just explained how to do some things way differently than I was used to, and had a technique that I was unfamiliar with. I’m glad for having grown a little in my skill set as a result.

How about you?

